How do I restore my saved session? (Clicked save session - okay - asked for project name - then GONE)

I'm new to R-Studio. I did a bunch of work, followed some tutorials. I saved my session, it then asked for a project directory name (I never selected "new project"), and then it auto-reloaded, and all my work is gone. The save session said okay before that project name dialog came up by itself (automatically, immediately after the save). I haven't touched anything since then. How do I get my work back?

Thanks for any help.

Hi @Mike4: What OS are you using?

Windows 10. It has always automatically updated with the latest updates.

What happens if you use File Explorer to try to locate one of the missing files? Do you remember any of their names? And if so, what folder does it show up in?

The only missing files would be session files, and I don't know their names. I know where the .csv file is I was using (Downloads). I was doing different things with the data, loading different libraries, and there was a scrollable history of my past commands that I kept reviewing. That is all gone.

The reason I ask is that is that when a new project is opened (which sounds like is what happened without you meaning to), a new directory may be created and everything --- including history --- may look as if you've started from scratch. Could you search for all the .RData files on your machine? That might give you a clue as to how to get back to where you were.

1 Like

Hi. I definitely did not select create new project. I specifically avoided that. I'm going to do a search for .RData files, and I will be back in a few minutes.