How do you pitch going to R conferences?

So I'm a student coming up on the end of my PhD, and my experience of conferences so far has been entirely academic: I've been to domestic and international conferences, and I've been lucky enough to have them funded by my supervisor or institution. They've all been field-oriented (so climate science or environmental health conferences).

So language- or data science-focused conferences like rstudio::conf and useR! are a bit of a different beast for me. I'm doing paid work now as I finish my PhD, so going to one of these self-funded is not entirely out of the question, especially since I'm considering skipping the academic career and trying to build a freelance/consulting career out of data science (for which the benefits of conferences like this are very clear).

But I am very interested in how everyone else ends up at conferences like these. I see the main users (and, please, tell me if I'm wrong here or missing people) as:

1. academic (ie. student or researcher);
  2. industry (ie. has a job involving data science with a company or other larger business);
  3. self-employed (ie. freelancer, consultant or hobbyist).

So if you're an academic or an industry person, I'd love to know how you convinced the person signing the cheques to send you. What was the value proposition of the conference for you, and what was the value proposition for your company or organisation? Does your org already have recognised mechanisms for sending people to conferences, and are data science conferences considered valid destinations? (I'm particularly interested in that last question for academic folks).

If you're self-employed, did you pay for everything yourself or did you get some kind of external grant or funding to go? Do you build an allowance for conferences into your business expenses?