How to add latex code inline in quarto

Hello everybody,
I'm writing a book with quarto, compiing in tex with TexLive 2022
I am using includes like {{< include _content.md >}} to include markdown files
I have noticed that markdown formatting code is not always well traslated to latex, even if it works in HTML output.
I want to include a framed text in an include file as .tex, to get the output as posted here in the second answer, using tcolorbox package.
As this framed colour box needs to be placed inside the markdown text included, I'm not sure how I should tell quarto to include the .tex code. SHould I use an additional .qmd file and put the .tex code in YAML section? I'm quite new to quarto and I'm a bit confused about how to do this.
Thanks in advance

1 Like

I have just started playing around with Quarto but something like this seems to work.

title: "Latex"
author: "john the toucanite"
format: pdf
header-includes:

• \usepackage{lipsum}
  • \usepackage{tcolorbox}

\begin{tcolorbox}
\lipsum[1]\\
a new line\\
$$ y = x^2$$
\end{tcolorbox}
2 Likes

Unless you need to perform deep LaTeX magic, .qmd files can be converted directly to pdf using pandoc under the hood, with the option of further tinkering with the intermediate tex files. The Quarto site has details. For pdf output only (doesn't work with HTML and vice versa), you can inline LaTex.

'```
'---
'title: "stub.pdf"
'format: pdf
'---

Block

\begin{tabular}{|l|l|}\hline
    Age & Frequency \\ \hline
    18--25  & 15 \\
    26--35  & 33 \\
    36--45  & 22 \\ \hline
    \end{tabular}

Inline maths: f(x) = y

Inline text:

\begin{center}
Example 1: The following paragraph (given in quotes) is an
example of centered alignment using the center environment.

``La\TeX{} is a document preparation system and document markup
language. \LaTeX{} uses the \TeX{} typesetting program for formatting
its output, and is itself written in the \TeX{} macro language.