How to assign categorical variables to specific rows of data

I'm new to R and this community, so please excuse any etiquette or common practice violations that I have obliviously made.

I'm working with NCIC (National Crime Information Center) data and I have thousands of rows with different NCIC codes, i.e. 2405, 1110, 3803, etc. Each of these NCIC codes represents a different type of crime. I'm trying to sort the data into four offense categories: 1=violent, 2=property, 3=drug, 4=other. How could I classify crimes 2101 through 3204 as a number 3, for example?

An similar dataset to my own can be found here:
https://secure.ssa.gov/poms.nsf/lnx/0202613900

Hi @palcape, welcome to the community!

A great first step when asking a question like this is to start with detailing what you've tried already. Assuming of course, that you have an idea where to start and have done so - this isn't always easy to do when you're starting out (as I can well remember)! So don't worry if the answer for now is, I don't know where to start.

In terms of etiquette and sharing code etc, most people will ask that you present your code and (a sample of) the data you're working with as a reproducible example, or a reprex.

To get started with working with data, I'd recommend checking out the data transformation section of the R for Data Science book.

It can also be worth breaking down your problem a bit, too. It sounds like you're trying to:

• Create a new variable in an existing data set;
  • Set that variable to be a a value based on other values in the data set.

To me, this sounds like a good time to use the mutate() function from the dplyr package. You can find some more details about that here.

Again, welcome, and please reply here if there's anything further I/we can add!

Hi! Welcome! :grin: