how to know the surv function execution is done

Hi Everybody,

I am very new to R.

I was wondering how I can know if the execution of the Surv function is done.

Apologize if this has been discussed before. If it was discussed before can anyone point me to the original posting?

Thanks in advance.

While an R function is running, it shows no > prompt in the console pane until it is finished. Unless dealing with large data it is rare for a function to make very many seconds. For example,

library(survival)
library(microbenchmark)
with(aml, Surv(time, status))
#>  [1]   9   13   13+  18   23   28+  31   34   45+  48  161+   5    5    8    8 
#> [16]  12   16+  23   27   30   33   43   45
survfit(Surv(time, status) ~ ph.ecog, data=lung)
#> Call: survfit(formula = Surv(time, status) ~ ph.ecog, data = lung)
#> 
#>    1 observation deleted due to missingness 
#>             n events median 0.95LCL 0.95UCL
#> ph.ecog=0  63     37    394     348     574
#> ph.ecog=1 113     82    306     268     429
#> ph.ecog=2  50     44    199     156     288
#> ph.ecog=3   1      1    118      NA      NA

microbenchmark(Surv(heart$start, heart$stop, heart$event))
#> Unit: microseconds
#>                                        expr    min      lq     mean median
#>  Surv(heart$start, heart$stop, heart$event) 30.904 31.8745 36.24839 32.288
#>      uq     max neval
#>  32.825 357.342   100

Thank you for your reply.

I see the > instantly after i hit enter for the call of the Surv function. but i did not get any output file. Does this mean this function does not produce any output file?

Can you please further advise?

Hi!

To help us help you, could you please prepare a reproducible example (reprex) illustrating your issue? Please have a look at this guide, to see how to create one:

In the example above

without running the time, so

Surv(heart$start, heart$stop, heart$event)

returns its value to the screen, but it does not persist unless assigned its own object name