How to make function which can read an argument without any gap or comma?

I am new to R and i want to make a function where i want my function to read my input as ABCDEF.... Please tell me how can i make this function where my argument is like this. I am able to make a function with input like this A,B,C,D,E,F...

Can you show what you already have? I'm not sure I understand what the exact issue here.

It is generally frowned upon to post a picture of your code. Please create a reprex so that the community is better able to help you:

function1=function(char1, char2...){
result=sum(char1, char2...)
return(result)
}

This is what i have made

I want my function to read the argument and sum up the values which I've already saved in that

I give your function 2 values: A and B. What should be the result?

Suppose i have stores A=1 B=2 then by using this function our output would be 3

What's wrong with sum()?

I am making a function in which it will count the molecular weight of a protein, for which i have already stored the individual molecular weight of every amino acid.
I want my function to read and show me the aggregation of the input (all the amino acid which i have entered as an input).
I have use this "Sum" to sumup the total molecular weight of amino acids

Well, the function sum() calculates the total of its inputs.

If that's not what you are after, then you'll have to post a reprex.

1 Like

Yes i am using sum for this purpose only, i just want your help to tell me how can i make a program for ABCDEF type of input or argument without any gap or commas. I want to make an argument in string not in character, so please guid me in this. Thankyou

There are many ways to do this. Below is one way that uses the tidyverse and another that doesn't.

The %>% function is for piping a value from one segment of a pipe to another.