How to trace a corrupt package

Just for reference say I download a package x and it downloads some dependencies y1, y2 , y3 and so on... and one of which is broken and I have some of my packages which are dependent upon that as well. How can I trace which package to reinstall to set up everything just fine. I know it's out of context but it is an information I think as an R programmer I should know.

It happened yesterday while installing ggplot2 dev version Rlang created some issue and I was not able to understand why I can't plot even after reinstalling ggplot2 again and again.Because it can happen again too....

It's just a formal discussion. Let me know how do you some it.

I have faced this same exact issue with the development version of ggplot2. My solution was just to remove the packages and reinstall the stable versions. To me, it wasn't worth the headache of trying to figure it out, although i would like to know if someone has a solution. I just figured I would comment to say that I think this might be a common thing.

2 Likes

For context, this topic emerged out of this other thread. As co-conspirator, I’d like to say that I’m interested in the generalizable strategies other people take to diagnose package installation and dependency problems and in resources for learning/teaching people how to handle these problems with confidence.

To expand a little on what I said in the original discussion, I feel like long, incremental experience has given me an empirical skill set that boils down to:

• knowing how to parse info out of R error messages and warnings
  • an intuition for where the likely points of failure are that I can’t articulate well

But I don’t really have a coherent theory to underpin this hard-won experience, I find it hard to teach to anybody else, and I strongly suspect I have a lot left to learn! I also don’t know of any beginner-friendly go-to resources on the topic.