How to turn the fill command into a function of the y-axis value in GGplot (R)

Relative newbie here, and this is my first post...I have tried to make a ggplot bar chart using two methods and have only achieved mixed results with one of the methods. I have created a small sample dataset representing my larger one, which pertains to the variable of individual fires: class of fire size (fire_size), a weather index at the time of the fire (ONI_intensity) and the area burnt in hectares (area_ha).

library:tidyverse

fire_size <- c("small", "medium", "medium", "small", "large", "large")
ONI_intensity <- c(-3, 0, 3, 0, -3, 3)
area_ha <- c(423, 473, 736, 827, 848, 626)

mydata <- data.frame(fire_size, ONI_intensity, area_ha)
mydata 

and the result:

enter image description here

I repeated this in excel, creating a pivot table and from it, a pivot chart. This was accurate and reflected how I wanted to structure my GGplot. In the pivot table that fed the pivot chart, I dropped fire_size into Legend, ONI_intensity into Axis, and Sum of area_ha into Values.

Here, I have ONI_intensity as the categorical variable on the x value, I have the sum of the area_ha of all relevant individual fires, and as fill, I have fire_size. Importantly, this fill should not represent a count of the individual fires within the class of fire size, but rather the sum of the area of all fires within the class of fire size.

Now here is the code I try to recreate this with in R:

mydata %>%
  ggplot(aes(x = ONI_intensity,
             y = area_ha,
             fill = fire_size)) +
  geom_bar(stat = "summary",
           fun = sum,
           position = "identity",
           alpha = 0.5,
           width = 0.65) +
  theme_bw() +
  theme(panel.grid.major = element_blank(),
        panel.grid.minor = element_blank()) +
  labs(x = "ONI intensity", y = "Area (hectares)")