How to write NA for missing results in rvest if there was no content in node (within loop) further how to merge variable with results

Hi i'm new to R and try to fetch the tickers/symbols of Yahoo Finance from a text file which contains company names like Adidas, BMW etc. in order to run an event study later. This file contains about 800 names. Some of them can be found in yahoo and some not. (Thats ok)

My loop work so far but missing results won't be displayed. Further it only creates a table with numbers and results which could be found.But i would like to create a list which displayed the variable i ("firmen") and the results that's has been found or an NA in case there was no result.

Hope you guys can help me. Thank you !!!

my code:

library(rvest)

# company_names
firmen <- c(read.table("Mappe1.txt"))

# init
df <- NULL

# loop for search names in Yahoo Ticker Lookup
for(i in firmen){
  # find url
  url <- paste0("https://finance.yahoo.com/lookup/all?s=", i, "/")
  page <- read_html(url,as="text")

# grab table
  table <- page %>%
    html_nodes(xpath = "//*[@id='lookup-page']/section/div/div/div/div[1]/table/tbody/tr[1]/td[1]") %>%
    html_text() %>%
    as.data.frame()

# bind to dataframe
  df <- rbind(df, table)

}

prefer bind_rows from dplyr/tidyverse over rbind, because it takes less effort to construct suitable rows by their header to bind to existing tables.

You basically would need to add some logic to detect whether you would be binding a row that you got from your query, or a row that you construct to stand in for an absent row.

library(dplyr) # for bind_rows 

(x <- tail(iris))

(head_and_tail <- bind_rows(head(iris),
                            x ))

(x <- NULL)

(head_and_null_bad <- bind_rows(head(iris),
                                x ))

(head_and_null_good <- bind_rows(head(iris),
                            if(is.null(x))data.frame(Species="unkown") else x ) )
1 Like

Hey nirgrahamuk, thank you for your fast response.