HTML not rendering in the RMD file if the directory name is too big.

Greetings, and apologies as I'm new to R.

I think I may have found a potential bug. I'm receiving an issue rendering HTML in a RMD file when the directory name is too big.

I made the directory name in my test case the largest possible for windows. For now we can work around this and tell users to adjust if their directory name if it is too long, although it would be nice to maintain the large directory names.

Thank you in advance!

Can you share more about the error you get ? And also the test case you've made ?

This will help us reproduce and look into this. For now, we don't really where to look ? (RStudio IDE issue ? R Markdown issue ? Shiny issue ? ...)

thanks

Thank you for responding!

To replicate Issue:

1. Create a directory with a large name, such as: "012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890"
  2. Create a project in that directory.
  3. Create a new RNotebook and save the RMD file.
  4. Put shiny::HTML("<b>Hello World</b>") in the code chunk.
  • The HTML will not render successfully, and it'll show raw HTML.
  • If you do those steps over again without putting the project in a directory with a large name, the HTML will render successfully.

Unfortunately, I did the step mentioned but I can't reproduce.

What I now of Windows, is that there is a limit in path longer you can have. Maximum Path Length Limitation - Win32 apps | Microsoft Learn
I have encounter such limitation in the past but not with rendering Rmd.

What is the error you get exactly ? No error but unexpected content as you described ?
shiny::HTML("<b>Hello World</b>") is including some raw HTML so I am trying to be sure I understood correctly.

Okay, well thank you for looking into it!