identifying exact or near duplicate names in a dataset

Below are the supplier names as example, which are exact duplicates as well as near duplicates, how can we identify this is with R,
3M
3M Company
3M Co
A & R LOGISTICS INC
AR LOGISTICS INC
A & R LOGISTICS LTD
ABB GROUP
ABB LTD
ABB INC
how do I tag these into one group by fuzzy logic to normalize the names. Output can be like below, also open for better suggestions

3M 1
3M Company 1
3M Co 1
A & R LOGISTICS INC 2
AR LOGISTICS INC 2
A & R LOGISTICS LTD 2
ABB GROUP 3
ABB LTD 3
ABB INC 3

1 Like

Hi,

I have this problem as well in my day job :slight_smile:
The bad news is there is no easy way to do it automatically but I'm far from an expert but if anyone has any ideas i would love to hear your thoughts also.

These look like shipper names which are probably not standardized. I can only suggest a number of ways that i looked at it but your mileage may vary.

• You could try tidystringdist which has an assortment of fuzzy string matchers and is very intuitive. Each metric compares a string and gives you a similarity score sometimes scaled between 0-100. When we were stuck with this, we compared every shipper name to every other shipper name and matched it to the highest matched value. We decided early on that anything below a 95% match needed to be investigated manually. We would then stick this into a reference table for future matching. The next time we had a bunch of shipper names we would first check the reference table then check for a fuzzy match.

• The second method could be to use a clustering technique and use the distance measure such as a levenschtein distance which measures the number of edits needed to make one shipper name look like another. It would in theory cluster the names that were similar and then we would go in to manually check them to create

I hope this is useful

Thanks

4 Likes

John,