I'm failing to update ggplot2, any suggestions please?!

In R Studio on my Mac, I've been trying to update ggplot2 from 2.2.1 to 3.1.0 in order to use ggtern. Unfortunately this keeps going round in circles and not working, and I'm a beginner who just doesn't know what to try next! I am using the newest version of R Studio.

I've tried

update.package("ggplot2") which resulted in

update.packages(ggplot2)
Error in update.packages(ggplot2) : object 'ggplot2' not found

And I've tried to update packages from the Output pane. That got into a loop where R Studio asked me to restart R because one or more package to be updated is currently loaded and R needs to restart prior to making the updates. I ended up stopping the loop by not restarting, which then appeared to run an install but ended:

Warning in install.packages :
installation of package ‘ggplot2’ had non-zero exit status

I'm afraid that I don't really know how best to explain what I'm seeing, or communicate this in the forum, but I'm hoping I can get a pointer in the right direction. Ultimately I need to make some ternary diagrams, hence my wish to use ggtern...

Here's what typically works for us:

• remove.packages(ggplot2)
  • Restart R (under "Session" menu in RStudio)
  • devtools::install_git("git://github.com/tidyverse/ggplot2.git")

Warning: When installing a package from github in this way, you might need to install newer versions of other packages. Always be ready to play a bit of "Whack-A-Mole..."

John

Thank you.

I'll start with ggplot2 then, and hope that I understand any other messages I get about other packages!

You might also find success with:

• remove.packages(ggplot2)
  • Restart R (under "Session" menu in RStudio)
  • install.packages("https://cran.r-project.org/src/contrib/ggplot2_3.2.0.tar.gz", repo=NULL, type="source")

Repeat for each dependency that needs updating (ie "R Whack-A-Mole")