Import multiple shapefiles and export a .csv file

Hello there,
I am quite new to R studio, and I'm trying to read multiple shapefiles (with random names) from a single directory and extract the number of row s of data with each shapefile's table of attribute and finally export data in a .csv file comprising the shapefiles name in the first column and number of rows of the table of attribute corresponding to each shapefile in the second column.
I appreciate any tip help me to accomplish this task.

Hi, and welcome to this nice community! What's a shapefile? Could you share a reprex (reproducible example) following the approach outlined here? Thanks!!

1 Like

Shapefiles can mean many things - are they ESRI shapefiles, or other format? Are they individual shp files, or a gdb database? What package are you using to access them? The "old" rgdal & sp workflow, or the "new" sf workflow? Hard to give definite answer without knowing this first.

The start of my approach would be this:

library(rdgal)

shapefiles <- list.files(pattern= '*.shp')

result <- data.frame(names = shapefiles,
                     rows = c(NA)) # initialize the count

for (i in seq_along(shapefiles)) {
  shp <- readOGR(dsn = ".", layer = tools::file_path_sans_ext(shapefiles[i])) 
    # dot as dsn = assumes current direcotry; layer = filename without extension
  result$rows[i] <- nrow(shp@data) 
    # rows in the data slot of shp as s3 object
}

write.csv(result, "result.csv")
4 Likes

Thanks a lot for provided response.
They are individual .shp files and I'm using old rgdal to access them.

I have slightly amended my code above to follow the rgdal workflow. I don't have a directory full of shapefiles on hand, so I can't test it, but it should work; and even if it does not the gist is there.

You might wish to consider switching to the excellent sf package, which takes a different approach to handling spatial and data elements than sp package (which is what rgdal uses).