importing data and installing packages??

hello guys, im a newbie (more or less) at programming with R, and I havent used Rstudio since 2019, so now when I try to install some packages, I get a message saying "Warning message:
the 'rlang' package was compiled with R 3.6.3"
so I thought maybe this means I have an old version or smtg, so I installed the latest version and still no use, I still get this msg. And this poses problems when I try to import data. at first I used the rio package and it worked once and I was able to use the import function, but after few days, I retried it and it wont work. this is what it says"Error: package or namespace load failed for 'rio' in loadNamespace(i, c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[i]]) :
package 'rlang' 0.4.11 is already loaded, but >= 1.0.0 is required"
now im just trying to import a csv the traditional way but that also doesnt work, this is what I get :

setwd("C:/Users/user/Documents/targetTS/")
Error in setwd("C:/Users/user/Documents/targetTS/") :
cannot change working directory
data <- read.csv("targetTS.csv")
Error in file(file, "rt") : cannot open the connection
In addition: Warning message:
In file(file, "rt") :
cannot open file 'targetTS.csv': No such file or directory.
Please help Im really desperate rn, if my supervisor knows im still stuck at this step I would be in big trouble. Thanks

Run install.packages("rlang") and then read the error message, it says it cannot find C:/Users/user/Documents/targetTS/ and therefore cannot open targetTS.csv, so check that you got those directories right or even better... Run your project using projects in RStudio :+1:

1 Like

Hello, I am indeed working with Rstudio, and I checked the directory from the file's properties so normally it should be correct and I tried reversing these "/" but it still didnt work.

Try to play around with list.files() and put in your path gradually to see where it fails?

1 Like

you might try file.choose()

1 Like