Installation of package goes wrong/Library doesn't load packages

Hi everyone,

it is my first time working with RStudio and I am running into problems. This one I struggle to solve on my own:
I am trying to install the package "UsingR" (install.packages("UsingR")) and load it in the library (library(Using"R").

But after installation the library shows the error: Error in library("UsingR") : there is no package called ‘UsingR’

That is how the output looks like:

can somebody please help :slight_smile: Thank you

Your problem is that the library is not getting installed because of missing dependencies, try with this command

install.packages("UsingR", dependencies = TRUE)

If everything goes well you should get this message at the end

* DONE (UsingR)

The downloaded source packages are in
	‘/tmp/Rtmp0gcizd/downloaded_packages’

Then you can load the library with

library(UsingR)
1 Like

Hi Andresrcs,

many thanks for your support. I tried it, but I couldn't make it work. Is there something else I could do different?

Attached you find my output.
It would be great to hear from you again.

It seems like you are on MacOS and that you haven't installed xquartz, try installing it in your system (this is a system program not an R package)

https://www.xquartz.org/

Also, please post the error messages between 3 backticks instead of pasting a screenshot, something like this

```
* DONE (UsingR)

The downloaded source packages are in
	‘/tmp/Rtmp0gcizd/downloaded_packages’
```

When you post your code as images we can't copy it to google either. If you look closely at your log, it will say it failed, with nonzero status. It also mentions the Hmisc package. If you try to install that package you'll likely get another error. Then you fix that one and work back up the path to install the one needed.
Often this means you need to install something externally that the package is expecting on your system but isn't found.

Dear all,

thank you for your advice!