installing a package from local file, errors invalid octal digit and non-zero exit status

hello R community,

I am a relative novice. I work in RStudio, updated to the most recent version 4.0.3; my laptop machine runs Windows 10.

The problem: I need to use some code written for a university statistics course. They provide the code, and I copied their file saved it. It is an R file called "colMatches.r". It is not available from a repository, so I want to load it from the local file that I have. I found and ran the function install.packages as instructed for a local file, checking carefully that I have the right file path. There are two warnings: one for an invalid octal digit, the other for a non-zero exit staus. See below the results from my console.

install.packages("C:/Users/Chris/Documents/colMatches.r", repos=NULL, type="source")
Installing package into ‘C:/Users/Chris/Documents/R/win-library/4.0’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)
Error in getOctD(x, offset, len) : invalid octal digit
Warning in install.packages :
installation of package ‘C:/Users/Chris/Documents/colMatches.r’ had non-zero exit status

I have little experience, so any advice about what these errors mean and how I can correct them would be very helpful. Thanks,

piggly.wiggly

Hello @piggly,

So I am pretty sure that this in fact not a package you're dealing with but an R script. You should be able to open up the file with the following command to run:

source("colMatches.r")

Otherwise you can open the file in Rstudio directly and see what is within it.

Thanks GreyMerchant, you were exactly correct.

I applied the source() function in the R console showed and colMatches appeared in the environment pane of RStudio. I suppose it will now be active when I am doing the calculations necessary for my statistics course.