Integration between R and languages for web interface / systems

Good Afternoon.

I would like to know, please, if anyone has already done any kind of integration between languages ​​for web interface / system development and R.
I have an application made in shiny developed as a prototype and stored on the shiny server, but I would like to migrate it / develop it in Java, for example, and call R codes for statistical analyzes, graphs, maps, etc. What is your experience about it? Thank you in advance!

PS: I am a statistician and I work with R. I gave the Java example, but I do not know if it would be the most appropriate language to do this.

2 Likes

You might look into the plumber package, which allows easy creation of a REST API simply by tagging your code with nicely formatted comments (much like roxygen2). It essentially allows a web-app to call an R function via a REST API call and so is a nice fit for statistical analyses, etc.

As for the serving of graphs, maps, etc., that might be something that you serve as a shiny object / widget / etc. and then embed in the Java app via an iframe. I cannot imagine a way to serve graphs / maps / etc. via an API unless it's a static image, and even then, I'm not sure that a Plumber API would be the proper fit for serving those images. I guess it would theoretically be possible by delivering a base64 encoded string... but that just seems wrong. You could always deliver a network address / URL as well if the image is accessible to both applications. See the base64enc package for more exploration. Interesting question!

4 Likes

Hello, @cole. Thank you so much for your answer.

I've been researching about creating REST API's. I found the plumber package and opencpu package with the help of colleagues from a Facebook community.

According to my research, I realized that opencpu is more appropriate because it is more general and presents several ways to solve security and scalability problems. While the plumber is simpler.