Is it possible to display all database tables in R Notebook after establishing an ODBC connection to a SQL server?

I have established a connection to a SQL server in R Notebook. I am wondering if RStudio is capable of displaying all tables after a schema is typed out. I am new to this. Thanks.

```{sql, output.var = "groups"}

SELECT * FROM Database.schema.
```

You should be able to see the database and its table in the connection pane
https://db.rstudio.com/rstudio/connections/

iinside the Rnotebook, you won't have autocompletion - I don't think it is supported. (thanks @andresrcs!)

Actually, it is, but you need to have an active connection

1 Like

That's what I am looking for. I can't seem to get it to do the same for me. When I type the database name followed by dot and hit the tab key, I get no matches. Did you have to do anything special?

1 Like

I believe you are missing "connection=..." in your chunk options; have a second look at the example above.

1 Like

I tried that and it didn't work.

Can you share the whole code you tried ?
Which package do you use to create the connection object ?

@andresrcs I wonder if the auto completion feature is bound to :package: with connection contract only... :thinking:

```{r setup, include=FALSE}
library(odbc)
con <- dbConnect(odbc(), Driver = "SQL Server", Server = "", 
    trusted_connection = TRUE)
```

```{sql connection = con}
SELECT * FROM database.schema.

```

I am struggling to get the ``` to show so you can assume they are there. Thanks again.

1 Like

Just put 4 of them (one more ) above and under to include your rmarkdown code.

Do you put the connection object ˋcon` as a chunk option in the second chunk ?

Yes, it is, but that doesn't seem to be the problem here, since costhetamax is using the odbc package.