Is there an easy way to consolidate inconsistent string data?

Hello,

I'm new to R and brand new to the Rstudio community. I'm working with a dataset for a request process and one of the variables is the name of the requestor. I want to run some basic descriptive stats on the dataset. Problem is, the names of the requestors have been input very inconsistently. I see variations similar to what's below but with many different names.

Requestor
Doe, John
JDoe
John Doe
Johndoe
JJones
Jane Jones
Jones, Jane

Is there a way to consolidate the different versions of these names into one unique name per person (John Doe and Jane Jones)? I have many different names in the dataset, but it seems like there are a limited number of different structures (Doe, John vs. John Doe).

It's doable, but not necessarily easily, depending on the degree of comfort with regular expressions and the conformity of the example to the data to be processed. In particular, names in ALLCAPS or alllower, such as JANETROPE and janetrope (is that Jane Trope or Janet Rope?). For that, you need some data source of surnames to split against.

Here's a starter to show how to identify the different patterns shown in the data. Play around with that and come back with questions on how to take the results and transform into some standard form, such as lname,fname.

library(stringr)
dat <- data.frame(
  Requestor =
    c("Doe, John", "JDoe", "John Doe", "Johndoe", "JJones", "Jane Jones", "Jones")
)

pattern1 <- "^[A-Z][a-z]+[,][ ]*[A-Z][a-z]+$" # Doe, John
pattern2 <- "^[A-Z][A-Z][a-z]+$" #JDoe JJones
pattern3 <- "^[A-Z][a-z]+[ ]*[A-Z][a-z]+$" #John Doe Jane Jones
pattern4 <- "^[A-Z][a-z]+$" 
pattern5 <- "^[A-Z]+[a-z]$"
str_detect(dat$Requestor,pattern1)
#> [1]  TRUE FALSE FALSE FALSE FALSE FALSE FALSE
str_detect(dat$Requestor,pattern2)
#> [1] FALSE  TRUE FALSE FALSE  TRUE FALSE FALSE
str_detect(dat$Requestor,pattern3)
#> [1] FALSE FALSE  TRUE FALSE FALSE  TRUE FALSE
str_detect(dat$Requestor,pattern4)