Issues with Rmarkdown Knit project

Hello everyone,

I am new to both RStudio and using a macOS. my windows pc crashed when I used Rstudio, so I decided to upgrade. However, I am having some difficulty while working in RStudio and Markdown. I am not entirely sure I have downloaded the software, every time I open it, it asks if I want to open an Internet file?
But when I try to use the Rmarkdown knit function this is the error message I receive:
sh: /Applications/RStudio.app/Contents/Resources/app/quarto/bin/tools/pandoc: Bad CPU type in executable Error in strsplit(info, "\n")[[1]] : subscript out of bounds Calls: ... pandoc_available -> find_pandoc -> lapply -> FUN -> get_pandoc_version In addition: Warning message: In system(paste(shQuote(path), "--version"), intern = TRUE) : running command ''/Applications/RStudio.app/Contents/Resources/app/quarto/bin/tools/pandoc' --version' had status 126 Execution halted
Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thank you!

You have the binary installed for Intel, and need Silicon. Or vice versa. Does the R.app work? Or from terminal R?

Hi Technorat

I am able to use Rstudio, for basic vector addition, plots, etc. Every time I open R I get this comment:
“RStudio” is an app downloaded from the Internet. Are you sure you want to open it?
How can I check to see which one I have installed?

From the terminal

which R

will show you the first version in your $PATH

What I did for Quarto/pandoc was to install those separately. q3uarto and pandoc. Then I created a ~/.Renviron file

───────┬──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
       │ File: .Renviron
───────┼──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
   1   │ PATH=/Users/ro/.nvm/versions/node/v18.9.1/bin:/opt/homebrew/C
       │ ellar/python@3.10/3.10.9/bin:/Applications/CMake.app/Contents
       │ /bin:/opt/homebrew/bin:/Users/ro/.cargo/bin:/Applications/Jul
       │ ia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/bin/julia:/usr/local/go/b