LDAP group to be mapped to user role

I am new to RConnect - We have integrated RConnect with LDAP and all the users logged in by default are publisher role. We need a seperate LDAP group to be provided the viewer role, can we map the LDAP group to the User role, so all the users on the LDAP group will be mapped to the user role ( role mapping ).

Any suggesstions ?

Thanks for sharing this feature request! We will definitely add your vote for this feature, which we have had requested before.

Unfortunately, today there is no automatic mapping of user roles as you describe. However, it should be possible to create a workaround using the RStudio Connect Server API: Posit Connect Documentation Version 2024.02.0 - . This should allow you to (1) check user roles, (2) change user roles (if run as an admin), and (3) check group membership.

You could even script this using R and scheduled as an Rmd on RStudio Connect. If you end up doing this in R, this experimental R package might help you.

You could do something like:

library(connectapi)
client <- connect(
  host = 'https://connect.example.com',
  api_key = '<SUPER SECRET API KEY>'
)
all_users <- client$users()

updated_user <- client$users_update(user_guid = "user-guid", user_role = "viewer")

Thanks Cole.

Do I need to create the rstudio connect user from the remote LDAP group to map the correct user role or can i create rstudio connect group which will eventually pull all the group members locally?

1. create user / group in rconnect
  2. verify the user role for the users
  3. change the role for the group members

In our case, all the users are in LDAP and we don have anyone locally in the rconnect. So need the steps to manage the role in this case.

Thanks

Right, you will need to create the user before you can customize the role. If you do not create the user account, the first time the user logs in, they will get:

• their group memberships picked up automatically
  • the default role