Logistic regression; independent categorial variables

Hi. I am doing a logistic regression. One of my independent variables V is categorical with values 0, 1, 2, 3. The model creates variables V1, V2, V3.

1. I understand the meaning of the value of the parameter estimate β1 for V1 as the increase in the odds ratio by a factor of exp( β1). Is this correct?
  2. Is the meaning of the value of the parameter estimate β2 for V2 as the additional increase in the odds ratio by a factor of exp( β2), over and above exp( β1)? Is this correct?
  3. Is the meaning of the value of the parameter estimate β3 for V3 as the addidtional increase of the odds ratio ovre and above exp( β2)? Is this correct?
  4. Suppose the parameter estimate β3 for V3 is significant as measured by its z value, but parameters β1 and β2 are not significant. Does it make sense to eliminate V1 and V2 from the regression, or is something lost by doing so?

Thank you

I am not an expert in statistics. Please treat my answers as an attempt to be helpful by some random person on the internet.

1. Your statement matches my memory of logistic regression but it has been a few years since I dealt with it.
  2. I disagree with this. The coefficient for V2 represents the effect on the log odds when the sample is in the V2 category as compared to the baseline case when the sample is in the V0 category. That is, each coefficient represents the effect of moving from V0 to Vx.
  3. Same as answer 2.
  4. I am not sure what you mean by eliminating V1 and V2. If the categories are non-overlapping, each sample can only be in one category. If you are dealing with fruit, each one is either an apple or a pear or an orange. Do you mean to change the categories to orange/not-orange. I suspect I have misunderstood you.

Thank you.

What if I made V into four dummy variables and then eliminated V1 and V2, and possibly V0? Would that make sense?