Looking for advice or repositories for RMarkdown data projects

I'm a complete newbie to R Markdown. I've done a ton of reading on the different ways to setup R Markdown files, and have decided that I want to use my external data, and .R scripts to source the data. I then plan to build the tables for my analysis with code in the R Markdown file.

2 questions:

1. How does everyone list the source for a table (meaning what script the data comes from) in their R Markdown file?
  2. Does anyone have any resources or repos on github that they can point me to in order to see a real file Data Analysis project that uses raw data, r scripts, and R Markdown?

Thanks in advance.

On 2: There is a whole book on R Markdown: R Markdown: The Definitive Guide. That is an excellent place to start.

On 1: Not quite sure what you are asking. You use ``` to enclose the chunks for R code inside R Markdown. Are you trying to incorporate a separate file?

You need to start by actually reading the excellent, online R Markdown book, and esp. review the examples.

Before attempting with your own code, make sure you actually understand what the explained examples are doing!

Hi @realhiphop! Welcome!

On question 1, are you asking about how you would cite the source for your tables in your report text? Or how you cause the external scripts to run so that the data becomes available for your report code to beautify and present?

And can you explain a bit more about your workflow? Are your external data in a database? Some CSVs? Coming from a third-party API?

The question of how to incorporate data into an R Markdown workflow comes up a lot and there's no one right answer. Here's a previous discussion that might be of interest, now or later: