Loop not working, maybe due to Package ‘grid’ is not available (for R version 3.1.2) but I am using R studio Version 1.0.153?

Hi I am new to R, could I ask a question? Thanks, I get a warning: package ‘grid’ is not available (for R version 3.1.2) but I am using R studio Version 1.0.153? I do have R 3.1.1 on my computer. As I am using R on my work computer, it may take a while to get permission to update R.

Also there are 2 warnings about, warning:package ‘gridExtra’ was built under R version 3.1.3 , warning: package ‘ggplot2’ was built under R version 3.1.3

-update:
The real issue is, a loop is not working, I want to get 3 results of the 3 groups, say age=1,2,3, I just get the last group, age=3. I guess is it due to grid not installed, but may also due to the loop itself....the related code are as below:

DFnew$age = factor(DFnew$age,levels = c("Young","Middle","Senior "))

for (var1 in somegroups))
{
p[[var1]] <- ggplot(data = newDF,
aes(x=time, y=valueOFvar1, shape=90% percentile,col = age)) +...some formatting))
}
print(p[[var1]])

Thanks very much,

Hi,
RStudio is an IDE that exists on top of R. The warnings are just warnings, with the exception of the grid warning, which sounds like you need to update your version of R if you want to use it.

There's a really nice, quick explanation of the difference between R and RStudio at the link below, and it also has the links to where you can download an updated version of R.
http://moderndive.com/2-getting-started.html

1 Like

Thank you very much Mara, those links are helpful. I just updated my question...it is actually about a loop not working, I thought due to the package issue...

still, thanks very much for reply!