Looping folder and sub-folders with txt files

I am new to R. I have several txt. files in several sub-folders under one folder. The structuer of the txt files are the same. I would like to iterate the files for each sub-folder and generate a signle file for the whole folder. I coded as follow:

parent.folder <-"C:/.../18_0101"  # Folder containing sub-folders
sub.folders <- list.dirs(parent.folder, recursive=TRUE)[-1] #
Sub-folders r.scripts <- file.path(sub.folders) HR_2018 <- list() for
(j in seq_along(r.scripts)) {   HR_2018[[j]] <- dir(r.scripts[j],"\\.txt$")}

When I checked HR_2018[[1]] , I found only the list of .txt files under the sub-folder. From there, I would like to analyze the files under each sub-folder. And then I would like to iterate the same process for other sub-folders under the folder and generate a single file. Anyone help me?

Hi there,

Here is an example with dummy data and folders to merge all files across different subfolders

#Generate some files and folders
dir.create("test", showWarnings = F)
write("info", "test/file.txt")
dir.create("test/test1", showWarnings = F)
write("info1", "test/test1/file1.txt")
dir.create("test/test1/test1.1", showWarnings = F)
write("info1.1", "test/test1/test1.1/file1.1.txt")
dir.create("test/test2", showWarnings = F)
write("info2", "test/test2/file2.txt")

#Find all files
myFiles = list.files("test", pattern = "\\.txt", recursive = T, full.names = T)

#Combine the files
file.copy(myFiles[1], "test/combined.txt") #Copy the first
for(file in myFiles[-1]){
  file.append("test/combined.txt", file) #Append any other files
}

Hope this helps,
PJ

Thanks, @pieterjanvc !
I can follow to find all the files.

In this last step, I don't understand that you combined the files by file.copy(), and append any other files by file.append().

What I wanna do is:
I would like to analyze one sub-folder, and then iterate the other sub-folders using for loop ().