"mainPanel" is missing, with no default Shiny error

I am new to R and trying to run an app on Shiny but keep getting an error. Any insight into this error or flaws in my code would be appreciated.

ui <- 	fluidPage(
    sidebarLayout(
         sidebarPanel(
             selectInput('xcol', 'X Variable', dimnames(cdc15)[[2]]),
	selectInput('ycol','Y Variable',dimnames(cdc15)[[1]]),
             mainPanel( plotOutput('plot') ) )))
server <- function(input, output) {
     selectedData <- reactive({
         Q6[, c(input$xcol, input$ycol)]
     })
     output$plot<-renderPlot({
         plot(cdc15$X,cdc15$y)
     })}
 shinyApp(ui=ui,server=server)

!

Hi @apeach86,
Welcome to R! We're glad to have you here.
Shiny can be a pain to navigate because of all the nested parentheses and brackets. I can't fully run your example because you haven't provided reproducible data to go with it, but I fiddled around and it looks like you just your parentheses in the wrong places--you need to add a parenthesis after both selectInput items in the sidebarPanel and remove one from after the mainPanel code.

Can you tell me if this works for you? :

ui <- fluidPage(
  sidebarLayout(
    sidebarPanel(
      selectInput('ycol','Y Variable',dimnames(cdc15)[[1]])),
      mainPanel(plotOutput('plot')) ))
  })
    plot(cdc15$X,cdc15$y)
  })}

If that still doesn't work, could you post some reproducible data so it will be easier to help you answer your question? More information about how to do that here: FAQ: What's a reproducible example (`reprex`) and how do I do one?

Good luck!

1 Like

Thank you for your assistance. That was able to get the app to run but I got a new error, shown below. I tried to run the reprex package but I am not sure I ran it correctly.

ui <- fluidPage(
  sidebarLayout(
    sidebarPanel(
      selectInput('ycol','Y Variable',dimnames(cdc15)[[1]])),
#> Error in fluidPage(sidebarLayout(sidebarPanel(selectInput("xcol", "X Variable", : could not find function "fluidPage"