Manipulate list files ?

Hello !
I'm a beginner in R and I have some difficulties to import my data in R.

I try to import 40 csv file, all in one document, and I would like then to manipulate them and analyse the data for my thesis.

I could do a list of my files, but I can't find how to manipulate them ; they do not have exactly the same columns (some have one more column that's useless) so I can't bind them. So I really wish I could do a for loop or something after my code to select the column I would like to keep for each of my files (I tried select from dplyr with a for loop but it doesn't seem to work).

I also would like to delete some rows that are useless in my files before binding them, is it possible to also do it for each of my files ?

I didin't wrote much code because they don't work, so I just showed only the code that was working.

Thanks for your answer

'''r
#> Code comment
setwd("C:\Users\Tomi-\OneDrive\Documents\Articles\MĂ©moire\MĂ©moire\Data\LengthEstimation_23833_2020-05-12_12h51.12_4265b370-944f-11ea-a73b-d05099d383f7")

files = list.files("C:\Users\Tomi-\OneDrive\Documents\Articles\MĂ©moire\MĂ©moire\Data\LengthEstimation_23833_2020-05-12_12h51.12_4265b370-944f-11ea-a73b-d05099d383f7", pattern="csv")

data_list = lapply(files, read.csv, sep=",",header = TRUE, row.names=NULL, fill=TRUE)

n=length(data_list)
'''

You can write a function that takes in a data frame and selects the columns you want (or don't want)

clean_columns <- function(data_frame) {
  # add your code to select the right columns
  data_frame %>% select(i_want_this_one, and_this_one)
}

and then use one of the apply functions; probably lapply

cleaned_data_list <- lapply(data_list, clean_columns)

Then you can try binding.

Does that work?

Well it should probably work, but I was wondering if I could do this for all my files at once to not have to do this 40 times with a for loop

Thank you for your help :slight_smile: