Matching data base info with excel list of records

Hi,
I'm new to R and I have a question about matching a variable taken from an Excel file with an SQL database.
My starting point is preparing a file:

library(RODBC)
abc <- odbcConnect("sqldatabase")

my.data <- sqlQuery(abc, "SELECT * FROM sqldatatable")
my.local.data <- collect(my.data)
Belgium.data <- my.data[my.data$CountryID == 15, ]
Belgium.CurrentHY.data <- subset(Belgium.data, InterviewDate > "2018-04-01" & InterviewDate < "2018-09-30")

I can display it without any problems:

str(Belgium.CurrentHY.data)
$ CountryID      : int  15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 ... $ InterviewDate  : POSIXct, format: "2018-04-25 08:12:00" "2018-04-26 13:05:00" "2018-04-04 17:28:00" "2018-04-10 12:12:00" ...
$ URN            : Factor w/ 192210 levels "615000515307",..: 138831 138834 138838 138839 138855 138870 138875 138877 138886 138887 ...$ A2 : int 9 10 10 8 10 9 10 10 9 10 ...
$ B1 : int 10 10 8 7 10 8 9 10 8 10 ...
$ C1 : int 10 10 9 8 10 9 10 9 9 9 ...

so Belgium.CurrentHY.data exists

Now, I would like to use only selected records (URNs) from Belgium.CurrentHY.data and they are saved in a seperate Excel file P:\xxx\yyy\URNs in Run\List of URNs.xlsx

How can I do that?

I would also like to add other attributes from Excel as each URN has additional information such as Name, address etc.

I would apreciate your help!

I'm a bit confused what you are trying to do and relations of different datasets between each other.

Let's abstract it a bit and say that you have 2 datasets: one coming from DB, one in Excel.

Is your question about how to join them together and then save them to Excel file?
Or is it only a question about how to save Belgium.CurrentHY.data in Excel format?

If latter, you can take a look at https://github.com/ropensci/writexl package that allows you to easily save dataframes into Excel format.

1 Like