Missing \begin{document} in R Markdown to PDF

Hello All,
This is my first time on a forum...! :slight_smile: I am running a dos batch file to generate pdfs via rmarkdown::render. Here is my code - it is for 2 markdowns of 2 R notebooks with some graphical output. The first markdown works fine and generates a pdf as it should. The second (similar) call fails on the pandoc call with ! LaTeX Error: Missing \begin{document}. The end of this output is shown after the DOS below. Bizarrely, if I hang on to the intermediate file structure with the graphics with clean=FALSE and then run the tex file (which is seemingly complete) from Tex Live it works fine. Going mad with this, have looked evrywhere...any ideas please?
Thank you
Steve

THE DOS FILE

cd ..
rem
rem Replace the single back slashes with double for R input
rem
set WORKING_DIREC=%cd:=\%

rem -----------------------------------------------
rem Run an R notebook (markdown) program

set RProg_to_open=%WORKING_DIREC%\R Programs\Notebooks\MetricCoverageReport.Rmd
rem
rem Chop off the \Data Processing Software part of the pathname stub (26 characters) before bolting on the output data filename
rem because latex does NOT like to see \..\ and an error occurs! It took ages to find this.
rem
set WORKING_DIREC=%WORKING_DIREC:~0,-26%
set pdf_output=%WORKING_DIREC%\Output Data\MetricCoverageReport.pdf
rem
rem IMPORTANT the 32 bit i386 version must be run to give compatibility with 32 bit ODBC drivers!!
rem
"C:\Program Files\R\R-3.6.2\bin\i386\Rscript.exe " -e "library(markdown);Sys.setenv(RSTUDIO_PANDOC='C:\Program Files\RStudio\bin\pandoc');rmarkdown::render('%RProg_to_open%',output_file='%pdf_output%')"
rem
rem Now the values
rem

set RProg_to_open=%WORKING_DIREC%\R Programs\Notebooks\MetricValuesReport.Rmd
rem
rem Chop off the \Data Processing Software part of the pathname stub (26 characters) before bolting on the output data filename