Multiple linear regression models with interaction and coefficient interpretation

Hello everyone,

I’m very new to R and statistics in general and have some questions regarding linear regression models with multiple predictors.

If I have a dataset containing 4 predictor variables (of which 2 are binary (dummy coded) variables and the other two are continuous, as well as a continuous dependent variable, and I want to know how they all interact with each other as well as influence my DV, how would I do that?

I have already established that there is an interaction between one continuous and one dummy variable (which however aren’t good individual predictors for the outcome).
Can I do a model of the following form (is this mathematically possible) and if yes, how do I interpret the coefficients? Are the other variables that aren’t part of the interaction also influenced by the terms within the interaction and need to be interpreted in light of the interaction?

Y= b0 + b1X1 + b2D1 + b3X2 + b4D2 + b5(X2*D2)

Thank you!

What you propose is fine.

In your example the marginal effect of a change in X2 is b3+b5*D2, so you get different marginal effects depending on whether D2 is 0 or 1.

The marginal effect of X1 is still just b1.

Thank you for your reply!
Do I understand it correctly then, if I assume that the coefficient b1 of my variable X1 tells me the increase or decrease in my y variable for every one unit increase in my X1 variable? The interaction doesn’t affect the interpretation of the coefficient?

Does the same then apply to the coefficient of the other binary variable which isn’t included in the interaction?

You are exactly right, and yes, same for the other binary variable.

Thank you very much for the clarification! That was very helpful!

I’m assuming if that is the case, when interpreting the effects of X1 and D1, I can only talk about their effect on Y and not on how or whether they affect the interaction between X2 and D2?