Multiple R versions via Renv on Workbench server

Goal

I want to be able to choose between multiple user-installed R versions on a Posit Workbench server (2022.07.2+576.pro12) via the RStudio Web UI. Preferably by using the Renv version manager.

Background

• On a previous development server, we worked with Renv to manage multiple versions of R. Important: I'm talking about Renv and not the environment/library manager R package renv (confusing - I know).
  • Why?
    • Because we also use PyEnv to manage our Python installs and both packages are based on the same framework.
    • Because we consider it to be safer to have user-based interpreters rather than system-wide interpreters.*
  • This way, users can install multiple required R interpreters in their own home directory (e.g.: $HOME/.Renv/versions/4.0.0).
  • Our installation of Posit Workbench is completely new and I have no previous experience with configuring it.

My unsuccessful attempts (based on docs)

As per the documentation, Posit Workbench scans for and automatically discovers versions of R in central directories which are shared across users (e.g. /opt or /usr). Is it possible to include the user-based directory of R versions installed by Renv? Or can we only work with system-wide interpreters which are then used in user-specific renv environments? The generalised version would be $HOME/.Renv/versions/.

I have tried (in multiple combinations) without success:

• configuring Workbench to not scan the default locations (cf. "Determining available versions" in docs)
r-versions-scan=0
  • adding the folder of R versions & a specific R version to my user using the profiles file. (cf. "Creating profiles" in docs)
[michael]
r-version = /home/michael/.Renv/versions
# as well as /home/michael/.Renv/versions/4.0.0
# (even though I don't want to lock a user to one specific version)
  • adding a specific R version using the r-versions file. (cf. "Determining available versions" in docs)