Need help getting started with Spark and sparklyr

Hi,

I am having trouble getting started with sparklyr and a local install of Spark on Windows 10. Any help appreciated, I'm just getting started with Spark.

tl;dr; It looks like I am missing %SPARK_HOME/launcher/target/scala-2.xx. Where does that come from?

All the details
I installed sparklyr 0.94 from CRAN, then installed Spark 2.4.0 using
sparklyr::spark_install(version = "2.4.0")

When I try to start Spark with
sc <- spark_connect(master = "local", version='2.4.0')
I get this error:

Error in force(code) : 
  Failed while connecting to sparklyr to port (8880) for sessionid (37723): Gateway in localhost:8880 did not respond.
    Path: C:\Users\kjohnson\AppData\Local\spark\spark-2.4.0-bin-hadoop2.7\bin\spark-submit2.cmd
    Parameters: --class, sparklyr.Shell, "C:\Program Files\R\Library\sparklyr\java\sparklyr-2.3-2.11.jar", 8880, 37723
    Log: C:\Users\KJOHNS~1.CAL\AppData\Local\Temp\RtmpuKTspW\file3fa013955648_spark.log

---- Output Log ----

---- Error Log ----
Calls: spark_connect ... tryCatchOne -> <Anonymous> -> abort_shell -> <Anonymous> -> force
In addition: Warning message:
In system2(spark_submit_path, args = shell_args, stdout = stdout_param,  :
  'CreateProcess' failed to run 'C:\Users\kjohnson\AppData\Local\spark\SPARK-~1.7\bin\SPARK-~1.CMD --class sparklyr.Shell "C:\Program Files\R\Library\sparklyr\java\sparklyr-2.3-2.11.jar" 8880 37723'

If I try the command from the command line, I get a somewhat more informative error:

C:\> C:\Users\kjohnson\AppData\Local\spark\spark-2.4.0-bin-hadoop2.7\bin\spark-submit2.cmd --class sparklyr.Shell "C:\Program Files\R\Library\sparklyr\java\sparklyr
-2.3-2.11.jar" 8880 76708
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Cannot find any build directories.
        at org.apache.spark.launcher.CommandBuilderUtils.checkState(CommandBuilderUtils.java:248)