Need help in for loop

I'm new to programming as well as R and I've written a for loop. I think when the run this code the result should be printed 6 times but instead it is printing 12 times.
Can someone help?
I've attached the code below👇

gender = c("male", "female","male", "female","male", "female")
length(gender)
for (i in 1:length(gender)) {
ifelse(gender=="male", print("M"), print("F"))
}
The output is:-
[1] "M"
[1] "F"
[1] "M"
[1] "F"
[1] "M"
[1] "F"
[1] "M"
[1] "F"
[1] "M"
[1] "F"
[1] "M"
[1] "F"

You have to iterate over the gender vector

gender = c("male", "female","male", "female","male", "female")
length(gender)
ifelse(gender[i]=="male", print("M"), print("F"))
}

1 Like

To understand exactly why you get 12 values, it takes a bit of detective work. I'd say you actually have 3 potential problems in this code. The first one is what rafaelmenmell pointed out: if you use a for loop with index i, it's because you want to select the ith element of your vector at each occurrence of the loop.

But another potential problem, more an inefficiency, is that you're using ifelse(). If you use a for loop, a common way to write it would be:

if(gender[i] == "male"){
    print("M")
  } else{
    print("F")
  }
}

In that case, at each occurrence of the loop, you'd check the current value of gender[i] and act in consequence. But ifelse() is a very useful function, because it already contains a loop inside!

ifelse(gender=="male", "M", "F")
#> [1] "M" "F" "M" "F" "M" "F"

So if you give the full vector to ifelse(), it will automatically loop over each element, so you don't need to write the loop yourself.

Finally a third problem, more on formatting, let's run your ifelse() command:

#> [1] "M"
#> [1] "F"