Needing help on Linear Mixed Models

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in linear mixed models and would like some advice on what I would like to do with my data. I work in the field of cognitive neuroscience and my research focuses on understanding face processing in adults. We measure face processing using eye-tracking measures (here pupil dilation) and a paradigm using social (images and videos of real faces and avatars) and non-social (objects) stimuli.

I would explore if the physiological engagement, indexed by pupil diameter variations, is caused by the motion. To do that, we quantified the motion amount for each video by a coefficient. My data set consists of 7 variables (participant, movements, actors/actresses, categories, movement coefficient, and pupil dilation) with 1320 observations.

• categories are broken down into 3 components: object (non-social stimulus), avatars, and real faces (social stimulus)
  • movements are broken down into 3 components: static, micro, and macro movement
  • actors/actresses: there are 4 videos (2 actors+2actresses) per category per movement
  • movement coefficient: one coefficient for each stimulus, as it depends on the actors and actresses. They are different people so the quantity of movement is not identical according to the movements (micro movement -> neutral expression; macro-movement -> neutral to happy and neutral to sad). When the movement category is static, the motion coefficient is 0 (only for avatars and real faces as it is static photography but for objects, they are videos with really small motion coefficients and smaller than micro and macro movement)