Nested forloop - adding rows to dataframe

Hello,

I'm quite new to the R programming language and it seems I might need some help with a forloop.

I aim at extracting some data out of an existing data frame so that in the end I should have a matrix with a row for each subject. At the moment, each subject is represented with several values per variable and I need to calculate the mean value per variable and subject.

This is my code so far:

dat <- data.frame(cbind(rep(c(1:3), each = 3), 
                        matrix(runif(36, min=2, max=6), 
                               nrow=9, ncol = 4)))
names(dat)[1:5]<-c("subject","PD50","PD100","PD150","PD200")

library(dplyr)
#> 
#> Attache Paket: 'dplyr'
#> The following objects are masked from 'package:stats':
#> 
#>     filter, lag
#> The following objects are masked from 'package:base':
#> 
#>     intersect, setdiff, setequal, union
foo.mean=c()                  ## create empty containers
foo.total=c()                 ## create empty containers
all.sub = unique(dat$subject) ## create vector with all subject numbers

for(j in 1:length(all.sub)){  ## for loop over subjects
  for(i in 1:4){              ## for loop over variables
    a <- subset(dat, dat$subject==all.sub[[j]] , select=paste("PD", i*50, sep=""))
    foo.mean<-cbind(foo.mean,colMeans(a)) ## 
  }
  foo.total[j,]<-foo.mean[1,c((-3+4*j):4*j)]  ## FINAL DATAFRAME 
                                              ## one row per subject with 4 variables each
}
#> Error in foo.total[j, ] <- foo.mean[1, c((-3 + 4 * j):4 * j)]: falsche Anzahl von Indizes für Matrix

Obviously, the place holder foo.mean is getting longer and longer with each subject (it would be better to restart the object foo.mean from zero with each subject). That's why I created the - not so elegant - solution of extracting the 1:4, 5:8, etc. columns and adding each 4 columns to a new row in a dataframe. Unfortunately, this isn't working.

So, I have two questions: