New to R - need any help that I can get

I am trying to figure out how to run an ANCOVA in R. I am testing if habitat type affects metabolic rate, I have multiple sites too so I need a nested design site[habitat]. Lastly, I need to include mass as a covariate.

Thank you.

Hi Justin,

What have you tried so far? It's always helpful to post the work you've done already (including the literal R code), so we can know how we can help.

Here's an answer on Cross-Validated that might give you some insight. And, frankly, I just found that answer by googling "ancova in R", so I highly recommend you doing the same.

1 Like

I apologize, I am new to this and have zero coding experience. I have tried this...

dat = read.table("C:/Users/Justin Mukhalian/Desktop/R_folder/ANCOVA.csv",header=TRUE)
dat
results = lm(mass ~ log.WMR. + habitat)
anova(results)

However, I cannot figure out how to nest habitat and site. Also, I am not sure if my syntax is completely correct for the question that I am trying to answer.

@jmukhalian Justin, it's extremely helpful to have some representative data to go with the FAQ: What's a reproducible example (`reprex`) and how do I do one?

Without knowing the data type of habitat and site it's hard even to pose the question of what is meant by nesting

With some clarification, you'll find more people able to pitch in with helpful answers.

Aside: Don't think of R as coding, think of it as algebra. Although there are some programming like features, most of the time you are just passing arguments to functions f(x) = y in R is `y <- someFunction(one or more arguments).

Are you sure that you want them nested? Usually with ANCOVA, you would have an interaction between a qualitative grouping variable and a quantitative covariate. If habitat is the former and log.WMR is the latter, you could use

results <- lm(mass ~ (log.WMR. + habitat)^2, data = dat)

to create a model with the main effects and the two-way interaction (from the ^2 part).