New user here, I'm having a host issues sorting my data by date and ID.

Hey there, I'm quite a bit new to using Rstudio, and working in undergraduate research and I don't think I can share the dataset I'm working with but my issues come from trying to sort the data so that it can be graphed. Apologies in advance for the amount of text.

First things first, whats going on. I have a dataset of lecture information with dates and instructor ID numbers. alongside other class info There are a multitude of different instructors teaching on a date and no unique identifier of individual lectures outside the fact that each professor only has one recording per date. So I need to be able to sort this list of lecture recordings by date and then professor ID#. Doing this will allow me to make a heatmap of what tends to happens across different points in a lecture, and I have at least some experience with creating heatmaps.
My code so far attempts only half of the sorting though.

library("dplyr")
cdop_raw <- read_csv("cdop_rawdata.csv")
 ##trying to find a way to get all classes before covid shutdown didnt work
 ##after this sort classes by professor ID#?
data.precovid <- selectByDate(cdop_raw,cols(class_date), start = "1/1/2018", end = "3/12/2020")

This has two basic issues , one Rstudio can't find the function 'selectByDate' and thus nothing happens. The second issue is that my data is sorted month/day/year and from what I could tell online selectByDate works day/month/year by default.

So in summary there are three issues,
I need to sort a dataset by data in two separate columns, I don't know how to do this.
Also the command that I'm trying to use to do at least half of it doesn't work and if it did it wouldn't work the way I wanted it too.

Also here is what R says when I try to run the code as is.

Parsed with column specification:
cols(
.default = col_double(),
coder_1 = col_character(),
coder_2 = col_character(),
track = col_character(),