newbie help -- $ operator is invalid for atomic vectors

I'm brand new to R. I'm trying to run some sample code and am getting the following Error.

Error in labels(lhs(rulesMatchLHS))elements : ** ** operator is invalid for atomic vectors

Below is my code:

ItemsBasket = read.csv("ItemsBasket.csv")
dataset1 = read.csv("R Bike Input.csv")

library (arules)
library(arulesViz)

tr <-read.transactions("ItemsBasket.csv", format="basket", sep = "," )
warnings()
rules <- apriori(tr, parameter = list(supp = 0.001, conf = 0.8))
rules <- sort(rules, by="confidence", decreasing=TRUE)

dataset1 <- as.vector(t(dataset1))
rulesMatchLHS <- subset(rules,lhs %ain% dataset1)
OutputClient =data.frame(  lhs = labels(lhs(rulesMatchLHS))$elements,
                           rhs = labels(rhs(rulesMatchLHS))$elements,
                           rulesMatchLHS@quality)

The code is from here:

THANKS!!

2 Likes

I do not have any experience with the packages you are using, so I can only give you some general advice. The error is happening at

labels(lhs(rulesMatchLHS))$elements

and the complaint is that the $ operator is not valid for atomic vectors. That tells us that

labels(lhs(rulesMatchLHS))

is not returning a list as expected by the code. I would first run

tmp <- labels(lhs(rulesMatchLHS))

and inspect tmp with the str() and class() functions

str(tmp)
class(tmp)

I would then inspect rulesMatchLHS with the same functions. It should have the class rules. Maybe that will allow you to figure out what is wrong or you can report the results of those efforts here and someone might be able to provide more guidance.

I also am not familiar with these packages at all, but I wanted to chime in and offer both condolences and encouragement, as this is an error that I regularly find myself hitting and which you will probably see again. I think you are in good company, though, and not just of people new to R :slight_smile: