non parametric ANCOVA with 2 factors and 2 covariates (npsm package)

Hallo everyone, I am new to R and to the forum and I hope I am doing this right.

I need to run a non parametric ANCOVA on my data (called "dataset") which has a response variable (Y), 2 factors (A with 2 levels and B with 3 levels) and 2 covariates (X, Z).

I have been looking through the R packages on non parametric ANCOVA and it seems to me that only the npsm (Kloke and McKean) package has this option (multiple factors with more than 2 grouping levels and multiple covariates).

I am following example 5.4.4 in Kloke and McKean's book "non parametrical statistical methods using R" (pages 138-141), but I keep getting an error message: "object xfull not found".

I think this is because xfull needs to be defined but I cannot work out how to do this.
I cannot find it in the book and I spent the last few days looking it up on the Internet with no success.

I have a dataset with 5 columns: first column Y, second column A, third column B, fourth column X and fifth column Z.

The code given in the book is the following

library (npsm)
fitfull = rfit (dataset [, "Y"] ~ xfull -1)
summary(fitfull)

I have managed to work through all the other examples but I am definitely stuck on this. I apologize if the question is stupid (maybe the answer is really obvious), but I am a novice and I would really appreciate any help you can give me!

Paola

Hi, and welcome!

There are no stupid questions here. We're a community of learners from beginners through intermediate and advanced, with occasional visits from on high--some of the top luminaries in the R universe.

One of the things that allows us to be helpful is reproducible examples, called a reprex . In the case of the code snippet, dataset is not in the namespace by default. Representative data in the same form (even from a built-in data set) makes for more and better answers.