noob asks for help to make a GLM to test the specific diversity according to the type of soil

Hello there!

I'm here to ask for help about GLM (Generalized Linear Model).
I will explain the context to you, I am an intern and I work on the zooplankton of New Caledonia, for my report I have to do statistical tests and I therefore decided to test whether the type of soil had an impact on the specific diversity, in order to see if the type of soil creates endemism.
My data table is the results of 2 months of zooplankton sorting done in various samples from different ponds in New Caledonia.
So I have a column with the name of the samples (which corresponds to a site), the species found (for example Daphnia cephalata), the "landuse" which is a figure that I obtained using Qgis a site of cartography, the numbers correspond to a type of soil.
My supervisor advises me to do a GLM because my data is not suitable for other tests according to him.
But hey, I suck at statistics and i never do GLM. My script on Rstudio currently looks like this: :poop:
I'm joking but it looks like that:

data <- read.table("fichier_tri_stat.csv" , fill = TRUE, header = TRUE, sep = ";" )
attach(data)
data

y<-cbind(species, landuse)
model<-glm(y~???, family=binomial(link="logit"))

And that's all, and it's probably wrong.. so if u have good skills on rstudio and if the subject interests you, i need hellllp.

PS: i'm french so i'm sorry for my bad english

I may not be able to help much here but I will give it a try.

Let's start by clarifying the kind of data you have. Here is my understanding of the data. You have two columns of interest, species and landuse. Species is coded as a name, e. g. Daphnia cephalata. Landuse is a number that encodes a type of soil, so it is a category and not a continuous measure. Is all of that correct?