Optimx - how to optimize quadratic functions with 10 variables and 3 equations?

Hello People,

I have a difficult problem:

• quadratic equation with 3 equations and 10 variables
  • source: a unknown 3-10 matrix to transform a 3-d-coordinate system to another 3-d-coordinate system
  • formula for the equation system:
    x11xA + x12xB + ... x1,10xJ = L*
    x21xA + ... x2,10xJ = a*
    x31xA + ... x3,10xJ = b*
    --> Find the matrix of x11 ... x33!
    --> A ... J is given.

Now either you can solve it manually via t-equations (solution equations with t in it) OR:

Solutions (automatic):

Excel Solver (it don't works with so many variables and for quadratic equations its even more problematic and the result is crap, i checked it by multiplying the x11 ... x33 with the A ... J and the result is NOT the true result from my data).

R: optim() and optimx():

So i'm a newbie in R and only had a half year of experience but not regulary.
So i need a explanation of the code you given me, please :slight_smile:

So i searched for optim and it works with distributions. But how can i put this equation system in the optimx() function?

Arguments:
3 equations are the formulas i want to optimize, that the results match given values. You can see it like a simple example:
3x + 4y -2z = 20
-x + 2y + 5z = 14
Find x, y and z by optimizing the values of x, y and z!
I know the upper and lower limit of my 3-D-coorinate-system.

But now the problem gets bigger:
This way i use the maximize option in optimx().

But actually my calculated values are just a part of another calculated values which i want to get minmized.