Passing in column name as a function parameter into map function

I'm new to packages like purrr and rlang. I'm trying to write a function that takes a dataset, a column name to group by, and a column name to get quantiles for. This is what I have so far

library(tidyverse)

create_quantile_dfs <- function(data, group_col, metric_col, quantile_vector = c(0.01, seq(.05, .95, .05), .99)) {

# get the number of groups
  num_variants <- data %>% select(!! group_col) %>% unique() %>% length()

df_quantiles <- data %>%
    # a sort of groupby that allows functional programming on the other column???
    nest(- !!group_col) %>%
    # get the quantiles then revert back to the dataframe we're used to
    mutate(quantiles = map(data, ~ quantile(.$conc, na.rm=TRUE,
                                            probs = quantile_vector),
                           quantiles = map(quantiles, ~ bind_rows(.) %>% gather()))) %>%
    unnest(quantiles)

# label quantile values with the tau value
  quantile_key <- as.character(quantile_vector)
  df_quantiles$quantile_key <- rep(quantile_key, num_variants)

return(df_quantiles)
}

create_quantile_dfs(CO2, quo(Treatment), quo(conc))

But I can't find a way to get rid of the explicit column name in map (map(data, ~ quantile(.$conc). I'd like to use the function parameter metric_col instead. I don't understand using quo and !! under the hood to see why it won't play well with .$. Please help if possible and ty!

This looks like a case where you'd want to use group_by (rather than map) to operate by group.

In the code below:*

• The ... allows you to enter any number of grouping columns (or none) rather than just one.
  • The calls to enquo and enquos are how you capture unevaluated arguments in the tidyeval system. These arguments are later evaluated with the !! for a single argument (e.g., !!value.col) or !!! for multiple arguments (e.g., !!!group.cols). enquos(...) captures all of the grouping variables as a list of quosures.