Plotting datetime

Note: I'm a newbie

I have a dataset (rows number =69) with a datetime column in the form:
e.g.: "2018-06-07 08:16:11 CEST"

I've converted it like this:
dataset$DateTime <- as.POSIXct(dataset$DateTime, format='%Y-%d-%m %H:%M:%S')

I'd like to plot it with x=date time and y=number of rows

first problem: i dont know how to do that
second problem: when I try to plot(dataset$DateTime) the graph that i get mixes up the day with the month
so for example in the case above, month will be 06(june) instead of 07(july), and day will be 07, even though i did set the format they way i wrote above.

And in any case, coming back to problem 1, even if day and month were correct i still wouldnt get the graph i want, because in x i have number of rows, in y i have datetime

Thank you in advance, dont talk too much technical please :stuck_out_tongue:

Hi! Welcome!

For the first problem (correctly reading the date times), my first thought is: were you expecting R to print the dates according to the format you told it? (this is the "is it plugged in" question, so I apologize if it seems trivial!) R reads the dates according to that format, but by default it prints the dates as YYYY-MM-DD.

If I run your exact line of code as.POSIXct(dataset$DateTime, format='%Y-%d-%m %H:%M:%S') on the example text you gave "2018-06-07 08:16:11 CEST", the date is read correctly (though in the wrong time zone, since you need to provide time zone info separately):

# Date is read correctly as July 6, 2018, but time zone is my computer's time zone
as.POSIXct("2018-06-07 08:16:11 CEST", format = '%Y-%d-%m %H:%M:%S')
#> [1] "2018-07-06 08:16:11 PDT"

# Date is read correctly as July 6, 2018, with correct time zone
as.POSIXct("2018-06-07 08:16:11 CEST", tz = "Europe/Brussels", format='%Y-%d-%m %H:%M:%S')
#> [1] "2018-07-06 08:16:11 CEST"

# To prove that R understands the date correctly,
# we can ask for the datetime to be output as text in "MonthName Day, Year" format:
format(