Poll: Cheatsheet for best practices in R

About a year ago I started using R. Like many others, for a lack of a better term I am "self-taught". Much like a toddler in a spaceship, I thoroughly enjoy the ride, but have little idea what those shiny buttons and functions do. "Might as well start chewing on it, see what happens".

Naturally, at times the new information can be a bit overwhelming and confusing. For new R users, the solution is often to just look it up online. I would describe "Self-taught" as habitually and haphazardly outsourcing sensemaking to some entity across spacetime to equip oneself with the tools to deal with imminent disasters. In the first month of learning R, I would click on the first resource that popped up. Gradually more and more resources were found, and through experience, a preference for certain resources was built.

For all intents and purposes being "self-taught" is risky. Instead of chewing buttons, a toddler might find that other toddlers recommend headbutting it, which leads to better results, and is more fun! This however, does not mean the action itself is advisable or indeed, recommended. Personally, for learning purposes, I defaulted to YouTube, StackOverflow and the occasional tutorial website during the first few months. It was not until much later I encountered cheatsheets, R books, fora and webinars. To illustrate why this is an issue, consider the following (exaggerated) example where I want to create a vector with numeric value 1. Can you spot how many improvements can be made?

x = ((as.data.frame(1,"2")[[1]]) * 1L)

This is not a particularly aesthetically pleasing, or indeed a practical approach, yet the result is valid. In practice, the excess brackets, inefficient data type conversion, unnecessary function calls, different extractor operators et cetera are the source of problems encountered in code optimization or when communicating results.

x <- 1