Predict function error

Hello everyone,

I'm still learning R, and I cannot find a solution to my problem. I have constructed a regression model that has for regressand the average wage of an individual and for regressors its age, years of education, and IQ score. I based my regression on the data "wage2" from the package Wooldridge. I would like to predict the average change (I assume it will be a reduction) in wages considering a 4 years reduction in years of education. Any idea how I could do that using the function predict()? To begin with, I tried to assess the accuracy of my model by predicting the wage given a specific value of 'years of education' (12 years), but I am getting an error: "Error in eval(predvars, data, env) : object 'age' not found". You can see my code below:

library(Wooldridge)
data("wage2")

model1 <- lm(wage ~ age + educ + IQ, data = wage2)

predict(model1, data.frame(educ = 12))

Can anyone help me?

Thank you!

In the data frame where you set educ, you also have to set age and IQ. I would set age and IQ to some kind of "typical" value and then set educ to two values separated by four years.

As pointed out by @FJCC , You need to provide the predictors in your new data frame. Please make a follow up down here;

library("wooldridge")
data("wage2")

model1 <- lm(wage ~ age + educ + IQ, data = wage2)
predict(model1, data.frame(age = median(wage2[['age']]), IQ = median(wage2[['age']]), educ = 12))
#>        1 
#> 528.5071

# Alternatively, you can pass your dataframe with 'edu == 12'
df_new <- wage2[wage2$educ == 12, ]
predict(model1, newdata = df_new )

# Slice the data frame at 'edu = 12' for further plotting
df_new2 <- df_new[c('hours', 'wage', 'age', 'educ', 'IQ')] 
new_wage <- predict(model1, newdata = df_new )

df_plt <- data.frame(df_new2[c('hours', 'wage')], 'new_wage' = new_wage) # df for plotting

# Let us do the plot. I assume a Time series of wages vs hours
df_plt |> reshape::melt(id = 'hours') |>