Problem with a for loop for plot

Hello there,
I´m programming a code to plot some point of a dataset, and I get the length error, dont know why and how to fix it, is a "for" loop and here is the code:

for (i in Data) { 
    if (proveedor == 1) {plot(coorx[i], coory[i], col = "yellow")} else
    if (proveedor == 2) {plot(coorx[i],coory[i], col = "red")} else 
    if (proveedor == 3) {plot(coorx[i],coory[i], col="green")}else
    if (proveedor == 4){plot(coorx[i], coory[i], col = "blue")} else
    if (proveedor == 5) {plot(coorx[i], coory[i], col = "violet")}else
    if (proveedor == 6) {plot(coorx[i], coory[i], col = "grey")} else NULL
}
#> Error in eval(expr, envir, enclos): object 'Data' not found

I also attach an image of my data, so the code gets more contextualized, I'm pretty new in this language so I would be son thankful if u can answer me, THANKS!

Created on 2019-10-29 by the reprex package (v0.3.0)

Welcome Spectral!

The error says there's no object called Data in the R environment.

Assuming you've loaded your data into R and the data frame is called Data, then the code for the loop would be for (i in 1:nrow(Data)) {. The loop is supposed to go through each row of the data, so the loop variable i should go from 1 to the number of rows in the data.

You would also need to provide the data frame name for the plot command (e.g., plot(Data$coorx[i], Data$coory[i], col="yellow")), but (as raytong shows below) you should run plot only once and use points to add the points. In any case, a more efficient approach would be something like this (using the built-in mtcars data frame for the example):

# Set the color palette
palette(c("yellow", "red", "green"))

d = mtcars
plot(d$mpg, d$hp, col=d$cyl)

You might also find ggplot2 package useful:

library(ggplot2)

ggplot(mtcars, aes(hp, mpg, colour=cyl)) + 
  geom_point() + 
  scale_colour_manual(values=c("red", "purple", "orange"))
1 Like