Problem with cbind xts objects

Hi Guys,

I'm trying to manage xts objects in particular merge xts objects.

I built a first xts object called stock, and I build performance indicator RDP_5 (a new xts object)

I create a new xts object y1 based on RDP_5.

When I truy to combine the 2 objects: RDP_5 and y1 in xts object called xts1. It doesn't wok. The time indexes are the same. A warning message appears:
In merge.xts(..., all = all, fill = fill, suffixes = suffixes)
NAs introduced by coercion

I would appreciate if someone could shed me some insights to handle my issue as I am new to R

Best :smile:

library(pdfetch)
library(xts)

stock<-pdfetch_YAHOO("FP.PA", from = as.Date("2015-01-01"), to = as.Date("2019-03-31"))
colnames(stock)<- c("open","high","low", "close", "adjclose", "volume")
dates <- index(stock)
nb=nrow(stock)

#calculus
RDP_5=matrix(NA,nb,1)
RDP_5=xts(RDP_5, time(stock))
RDP_5=100*diff(stock[,4], lag=5, arithmetic=FALSE, log=TRUE)
colnames(RDP_5)<-"RDP5"

y1=matrix(NA,nb)
y1=xts(x=y1, order.by=dates)

for (i in 1:nb){
  temp=RDP_5[i]
  y1[i]=ifelse(-temp>4,"low", "high")
}

xts1=cbind(RDP_5, y1)

Not to be rude, but I won't run any code example which fetches things from the internet. It's a rule of thumb for security reasons. In this case, it also introduces unnecessary complexity for a minimal and reproducible example.

But the rest of the code shows the problem: you're mixing types. RDP_5 is numeric, and y1 is character. When you cbind them, you're forcing them to become a single type. R will implicitly coerce the values to be the same, but it's better to explicitly do it yourself.

Example:

a <- xts(1:3, Sys.Date() + 1:3)
a
#            [,1]
# 2019-02-05    1
# 2019-02-06    2
# 2019-02-07    3

b <- xts(letters[1:3], Sys.Date() + 1:3)
b
#            [,1]
# 2019-02-05 "a" 
# 2019-02-06 "b" 
# 2019-02-07 "c"

combined <- cbind(a, b)
# Warning message:
# In merge.xts(..., all = all, fill = fill, suffixes = suffixes) :
#   NAs introduced by coercion