Problems using ggplot2

Hello everyone, I'm very new to R coding and I've been doing exercises to help myself learn the language.

I'm trying to use ggplot2 to help plot models of some data and I'm having some issues.
This is my data, x1 is the input and y1 the output:
y1=c(10.05,1.5,-1.234,0.02,8.03)
x1=c(-3,-1,0,1,3)
When I try to model the data using a 1st degree polynomial, it all works fine until I try to plot using ggplot where I get a huge zig zag, I'll paste my coding and if someone could help me out that would be much appreciated!

data1<-data.frame(y1,x1)
Fit1<-lm(y1~x1,data = data1)
yhat1<-predict(Fit1,data1)
Then when I try to plot the fit using gg plot:
ggplot(data1, aes(x=x1, y=y1)) +geom_point(size=3, shape=19,color="red") + * geom_smooth(method="lm",formula = y1~x1, data=data1,se=FALSE,linetype="solid", color = "blue", size = 3)

I get the error : Warning message:
'newdata' had 80 rows but variables found have 5 rows

Along with the zigzag.
Thank you

The only issue with your code was in the call to the geom_smooth() function. You should have set the formula argument to y ~ x instead of y1 ~ x1. So here is the full reproducible code for you:

library(ggplot2)

y1 <- c(10.05, 1.5, -1.234, 0.02, 8.03)
x1 <- c(-3, -1, 0, 1, 3)

data1 <- data.frame(y1, x1)

Fit1 <- lm(y1 ~ x1, data = data1)

yhat1 <- predict(Fit1, data1)

ggplot(data = data1, aes(x = x1, y = y1)) +
	geom_point(size = 3, shape = 19, color = "red") +
	geom_smooth(method = "lm", formula = y ~ x, data = data1, se = FALSE, linetype = "solid", color = "blue", size = 3)

EDIT: As mentioned by @Z3tt, the geom_smooth() function does the fitting for you.

1 Like

Hi, ggplot's geom_smooth() does the fitting for you, no need to fit a linear model first nor to specify a formula explictly in your case. Alternatively, you can add the line manually but not with geom_smooth() but geom_line().

library(tidyverse)

y1=c(10.05,1.5,-1.234,0.02,8.03)
x1=c(-3,-1,0,1,3)
data1<-data.frame(y1,x1)