Problems with output=pdf_document

Hi,
I am really new to R and I am currently having issues with exporting my .Rmd file to pdf. When my output is set to html_notebook, it works perfectly. Unfortunately, as soon as I change it to pdf_document, I get this message of error:

processing file: FL_SNPs211.Rmd
Quitting from lines 8-20 (FL_SNPs211.Rmd)
Error in eval(expr, envir, enclos) :
objet 'FetalFrac_155bp_SCIP211_consensus_modified' introuvable
Calls: ... handle -> withCallingHandlers -> withVisible -> eval -> eval

The 4th line is saying that the file 'FetalFrac_155bp_SCIP211_consensus_modified' can't be found. However, this is a dataset I have imported, and works perfectly fine when I run it or when the output is html_notebook. So how come it is not working when my output is pdf?
Any ideas on how to change this?

Also, is it possible to get rid of the "code" button when the output is html_notebook?

Thanks in advance.

Your last question is probably why markdown -> pdf doesn't work. If you are looking at a file with "*.nb.html" file extension and everything works there, then it is created slightly differently from when you actually knit your document to pdf/html. Notebook files will take current output that you have in your document. That means that some of the things can be done interactively and it'll still work. For example, if you loaded your data into environment interactively (from "Import dataset", for example), all the cells in notebook will be able to see it and process it.

However, when you knit a document to pdf/html, it'll start from completely new R session and try to render everything you've written. Therefore, if your code that exports data is not correct, then R won't be able to find it and that is why you get the error.

So, solution would be to take a look at how FetalFrac_155bp_SCIP211_consensus_modified object is created and make sure that it is in fact done in reproducible manner.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply, it does make sense.