Quarto render ERROR: NotFound: The system cannot find the path specified. (os error 3)

Hello all!
I've been trying to use Quarto as my thesis writing method but I ran into some problems very early on.
I wanted to use Quarto project feature since I have some experience with R projects within Rstudio, but when trying to render the output (or create a project) I got several errors.

Background:
I'm running RStudio 2022.07.1 Build 554, R version 4.2.1 (2022-06-23 ucrt), on a windows 10 Home Version 21H2 laptop, with OneDrive and Boxcryptor. Previous experience with RStudio were flawless. I created projects, worked on them, rendered RMarkdown notebooks to Word files, etc. I tried many many things to try to solve the problem, including installing, re-installing R, Rstudio and Quarto CLI. In the end, after fearing that I really screwed up the many paths, I decided to fresh install windows. (I had it coming anyways).

The following situations and problems were recreated after the fresh install (formated disk, completely new windows installation with a windows usb installation disk created about a month ago), with Boxcryptor and OneDrive both turned on and off.

After many many tries, I found that of the two OneDrive folders, only one causes problems. (filepath= D:\OneDrive - myuniversity.edu)

The problems:
Situation 1:
New Quarto project created on desktop works like a charm. Folders and files are created correctly, and when rendering (after installing prompted needed packages) I am able to render both to HTML and Word documents.

Situation 2:
If I move that newly created Quarto folder to a OneDrive on another disk (path indicated above) I get 'ERROR: NotFound: The system cannot find the path specified. (os error 3)'

Situation 3: